President's Frontier Award

Congratulations to Associate Professor Scott Bailey, the second winner of the President’s Frontier Award, an annual prize of $250,000 to recognize a full-time faculty member who demonstrates significant scholarly achievement and shows exceptional promise for important future work. Read more

A member of the Bloomberg School of Public Health’s Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Dr. Bailey is focused on cellular structures and is responsible for breakthroughs in visualizing the atomic structure of a large multi-protein complex with a key role in bacterial immunity. It has set the stage for the development of new drugs to prevent antibiotic resistance and will foster progress in genome editing strategies that may someday lead to precision treatments for genetic disorders.

The President’s Frontier Award continues Johns Hopkins commitment outlined in the Ten by Twenty plan supporting bold innovation and the pursuit of excellence. The inaugural award was presented to Dr. Sharon Gerecht, a stem cell researcher in the Whiting School of Engineering. 

The President’s Frontier Award has been established with a $1.25 million donation from trustee Louis J. Forster, A&S ’82, SAIS ’83 and Kathleen M. Pike, SAIS Bol ’81 (Dipl), A&S ’82 ’83 (MA). Forster and Pike helped design the award with the goal of supporting exceptional scholars among the Johns Hopkins faculty who are on the cusp of transforming their fields. We are very grateful for their generosity, which enables us to give a significant boost to faculty members who have the expertise and creativity to become prominent intellectual leaders but need more time, resources or assistance to develop and share their ideas.

DEADLINE EXTENDED! Nominations due by October 28th at 5PM. 

DEADLINE EXTENDED! Nominations due by October 28th at 5PM. 

Nomination Process

Denis Wirtz
Vice Provost for Research

265 Garland Hall
3400 N. Charles Street
Baltimore, MD 21218
(410) 516-8094

Susannah Porterfield
Associate Vice Provost for Research

Julie Messersmith
Director of Research Initiatives

Tracy Smith
Research Awards Program Manager & Senior Administrative Coordinator


Who can nominate: Any full-time faculty member may nominate. Self-nominations will be accepted.

Who can be nominated: A full-time faculty member in any division who has demonstrated exceptional scholarly achievement and for whom the award will significantly expand their prominence as an intellectual leader within their relevant fields of study. The ideal candidate will be a mid-career, full-time faculty member.

Deadline to nominate: October 28, 2016
Please note this has been extended from October 26th! 

What information is required:

  • Nominator’s contact information
  • Nominee’s contact information
  • Nominee’s CV (to be uploaded in PDF format)
  • Letter of Nomination (to be uploaded in PDF format), no longer than 3 pages pages clarifying how the award will significantly expand the nominee's work and prominence as an intellectual leader within his/her field of study.  More specifically, the letter should address the nominee's:
    • Academic potential and self-directed enthusiasm for their field;
    • Creativity and originality of work;
    • Contributions that have transformed their discipline or field of study;
    • Exceptional promise and potential for important future work;
    • Reputation in the context of the size for the field or subfield, with external confirmation of impact (e.g. accolades/ awards from professional associations)

Please note that this award is NOT intended to serve as a lifetime achievement award, but rather an investment in future potential.

Selection Committee: The selection committee will be composed of distinguished Johns Hopkins faculty.

Selection Process: There will be a two-tier review process. The first tier will identify candidates from the initial nomination submissions to advance to the second tier. At the second tier, deans and department chairs will be called upon for letters of recommendation. Finalists will then be forwarded to the president and the provost for final selection.