Skip Navigation

Student Life
Diversity Leadership Council > dlc_old > DLC: The Diversity Recognition Award

The Diversity Recognition Awards

On Thursday May 3, the 2012 recipients were honored in Shriver Hall. 

Click the group photo to view the gallery of photos.

Click here for photos from past Award Ceremonies.


The Diversity Recognition Award was implemented in 2003 by the DLC through the vision of Audrey Smith, former Vice President for Human Resources and ex-officio member, who retired from the University in September 2003.

The purpose of the Award is to acknowledge outstanding accomplishments of faculty, staff and students whose demonstrable efforts foster greater appreciation, advancement and celebration of diversity and inclusiveness in the Johns Hopkins culture and environment.

Eligibility Criteria

All faculty, staff and students at Johns Hopkins University, the Health System and Applied Physics Laboratory (APL), except current members of the Council, are eligible to participate. Individuals may self nominate or be nominated by any Johns Hopkins community member. *Note: In an effort to provide fair recognition of all deserving nominees, previous award recipients are ineligible until six years following their last award.

Nominations should describe the nominee’s commitment to the advancement of diversity, inclusion, or multiculturalism as demonstrated by efforts and accomplishments.

Guidelines and Nominations

In winter of each academic year, the Council publishes an invitation to the Johns Hopkins community to submit nominations for the Award. Each nominee’s materials are reviewed by an Award Committee, comprised of members of the Council, and nominees are notified of their selection status in March. The annual Awards Ceremony is held in May and awards are presented by University President Ronald Daniels.


Register for the Diversity Conference on October 15 now!

View photos from the 2012 Diversity Recognition Awards Ceremony!

For general information about the Diversity Leadership Council please contact:
Risha Zuckerman