Current PURA Awardees

AY 2014-2015 PURA Awardees (Spring Cycle)


Proposal Title

Faculty Sponsor


Ellen Bruner

Tracing Elite Industry in the Ancient Mediterranean: Cyprus, Ceramics, and Copper​

Emily Anderson


Ivan Chen

Role of HIF-1 dependent Glutathione Biosynthesis in Triple Negative 

Dr. Gregg Semenza


Michael Chickering

Bisphenol A Toxicity Screening in Cerebral Organoids

Dr. Hongjun Song


Vikas Daggubati 

Uncovering execution points of Polo-like Kinase 4 in centriole duplication 

Dr. Andrew Holland


Yunfan Fan

Methylation Sequencing on the MinIon

Dr. Winston Timp


Preston Ge

Evaluating c-Abl phosphorylation of Parkin in Parkinson’s Disease

Dr. Dwight Bergles


Tyler Jorgenson 

Development of Hierarchical DNA Structures

Dr. Rebecca Schulman


Sang Hyuk Lee

Effect of cell senescence on the nuclear morphology and transcriptional activity of cancer cells

Dr. Denis Wirtz


Sathvik Namburar 

The Economic and Environmental Effects Associated with Medical Waste

Dr. Alan Robin


Amelie Nkodo

Translating child rights into institutional forms at the Centre de Guidance Familiale et Infantile (CEGID) in Dakar, Senegal 

Dr. Veena Das


Qiuyin Ren

Creating non-spherical biodegradable nanoparticles for gene delivery

Dr. Jordan Green


Sounak Roy

Investigating the Role of CXC Chemokine Receptors in Prostate Cancer Bone Metastasis

Dr. Ken Pienta


Christine Server

Unraveling the Circuitry of Serotonergic Neurons in the Raphe Nuclei

Dr. Jeremiah Cohen


Daniel Shinn

Enhancing peripheral motor axonal regeneration via nanoparticle-mediated gene delivery to the nerve autograft

Dr. Hai Quan Mao


Emily Su

Elucidating the Mechanosensitive Role of Primary Cilia in Calcium Signaling

Dr. Takanari Inoue


Daniel Takash

Optimal Taxation and Enforcement Strategies in Newly Legalized Drug Markets

Dr. Sauleh Siddiqui


Pranay Tyle

Influence of Oxygen Deprivation On Cancer Metastasis in Three Dimensional Microenvironments

Dr. Denis Wirtz


Camila Villasante

The Dynamics of Escherichia coli Adenylate Kinase

Dr. Vincent Hilser


William Wisner-Carlson

Refining Serial Murder Classification in Modern America

Dr. Kathy Edin


Brenda Young

Deconstructing the cellular basis of thalamic nuclei specification by in vivo clonal analysis

Dr. Guo Li Ming


Cyrus Zhou 

Using natural variation to understand stochastic gene expression

Dr. Robert Johnston


AY 2014-2015 PURA Awardees (Fall Cycle)

AwardeeProposal TitleFaculty SponsorDivision
Minkyung (Annie) ChoExploiting natural variation to elucidate the mechanisms that control stochastic specification of color-detecting photoreceptors Dr. Robert JohnstonKSAS
Alicia CoronadoInhibition of Mutant Phenotypes in Collective MigrationDr. Denis WirtzWSE/ KSAS
Jeremy FraenkelThe Economics of Currency Boards in Sarawak and British North BorneoDr. Steve HankeKSAS
Jarrett GilgoreHeritage:An Exploration of the Music and Life of Jimmy LyonsDr. Gary ThomasPEA
Alaina GoldSeasonal neuromorphology: Investigating seasonal structural changes in the human brain using MRIDr. Arnold BakkerKSAS
Ioana GrosuRomanian Noun FormationDr. Colin WilsonKSAS
Christopher JouThe Signaling Pathway shaping hypothalamic nucleogenesisDr. Hongjun SongKSAS/ SOM
Barbara KimBiomedical engineering innovation for simplification of neonatal resuscitation in the developing worldDr. Utpal BhalalaWSE/ SOM
Evan KimYouth Culture in Korea and its Relation to the West through an Ethnographic DocumentationDr. Bernadette WegensteinKSAS
Tyler KnowltonParser’s Dilemma: Memory vs. Grammatical Constraints in Sentence ProcessingDr. Akira OmakiKSAS
Chenhao LiOxidative stress and phthalate-induced down-regulation of steroidogenesis in MA-10 Leydig cellsDr. Barry ZirkinWSE/ SPH
Michael McCartin JrCharacterization of a novel cardioprotective mechanism: O-GlcNAc regulated autophagyDr. Natasha ZacharaKSAS/ SOM
Nicole MichelsonSubjective Social Status and Psychosocial Distress in Brain Tumor PatientsDr. Alfredo Quinones-HinojosaKSAS/ SOM/ SPH
Joshua NovackA Novel Crosstalk Mechanism between LINC Complexes and Mechanoresponsive Transcription Factors in Muscle DifferentiationDr. Denis WirtzKSAS/ WSE
Georges ObiedGiant Scattering Cones in Obscured QuasarsDr. Nadia ZakamskaKSAS
Eric OngElectrochemical control over gold nanoparticle interfacial assembly Dr. Joelle FrechetteWSE
Pranay RaoMolecular mechanisms of multicellular growth and invasionDr. Denis WirtzWSE
Benjamin RosserLHC Run2 Data AnalysisDr. Petar MaksimovicKSAS
Yong Kai SawEnergy-Efficient Desalination Enabled by Regenerative Magnetic Nanoprobes Dr. Chao WangWSE
Julie ShadeMechanistic Determination of Optimal Parameters for Pulmonary MPP DeliveryDr. Justin HanesWSE/ SOM
Haziq SiddiqiInteraction between stochastic and deterministic genetic factors in visual nervous system developmentDr. Robert JohnstonKSAS
Momodou SonkoIdentifying Epigenetic Factors in the GnRH Promoter Involved in the Regulation of Pubertal OnsetDr. Sally RadovickKSAS/ SOM
Andrea TheodoruCoulomb Interactions in the Hydrophobic Interior of a Protein: A Quantitative Study of the Forces that Govern Enzyme CatalysisDr. Bertrand Garcia-MorenoKSAS
Shiyu XiaInjectable HAMC-PLGA Composite for Ocular Drug DeliveryDr. Justin HanesWSE/ SOM


Click here to view a list of past awardees by year.