Skip Navigation
Johns Hopkins University logoUniversity Calendarvertical lineUniversity Newsvertical lineFind A Personvertical lineSearch JHU
Homewood Institutional Review Board
Responsible Conduct of Research



HIRB Membership & Schedule

The mission of the HIRB is to protect the rights and welfare of human research participants recruited to partake in research activities through compliance with the Federal regulations and institutional policies and procedures.

Committee members will have an understanding of basic ethical principles, the regulatory requirements, and the mechanics of serving on the IRB. Committee members will conduct prospective and continuing review of proposed research activities according to DHHS regulations 45 CFR 46 and Federal, State and local laws, and institutional policies and procedures.

The members of the Homewood Institutional Review Board (HIRB) include Johns Hopkins University faculty with expertise in various academic disciplines and a member from the community that is unaffiliated with Johns Hopkins University. The primary concerns of at least one member are nonscientific. The diversity of HIRB members’ expertise and experience enables them to represent the academic disciplines in the divisions served by HIRB, community views and attitudes, and nonscientific perspectives when evaluating the acceptability of proposed research. 

HIRB usually meets the first Tuesday of every month.

Homewood IRB Roster 

Chair, Michael McCloskey, PhD, Cognitive Science


Nathan Bos, PhD, Applied Physics Lab

Camille Bryant, PhD, School of Education

Mounya Elhilali, PhD, Electrical and Computer Engineering, WSE

Laura Evans, MA, CIP, Homewood IRB Director, WSE, KSAS

Lisa Feigenson, PhD, Psychological and Brain Sciences, KSAS

Karen Karp, EdD, School of Education

Renee Marlin-Bennett, PhD, Political Science, KSAS

Jean McGarry, MA, Writing Seminars, KSAS

Amy Shelton, PhD, School of Education

Marc Stein, PhD, School of Education


Community / non-scientific representative, Rabbi Steven Schwartz, 

The Rabbi Mark G. Loeb Senior Rabbi’s Chair, Beth El Congregation

Alternate Members

Deborah Carran, PhD, Developmental Psychology, School of Education

Mary Louse Healy, MS, Research Administration, KSAS

Sandra Newman, PhD, Health Policy & Management, BSPH